Christopher F. Jones (HSS PhD 2009) was awarded the 2015 Edelstein Prize from the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) at its annual meeting in October.  Chris' book, Routes of Power: Energy and Modern America (Harvard University Press, 2015) breaks new ground by examining the transmission of energy as a significant factor in both environmental and technological change, rather than the traditional focus on either energy sources or consumption.

The Edelstein Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding scholarly book in the history of technology published during the preceding three years. Previously known as the Dexter Prize, the Edelstein Prize was established in 1968 through the generosity of the late Sidney Edelstein, a noted expert on the history of dyes and dye processes, founder of the Dexter Chemical Corporation, and 1988 recipient of SHOT's Leonardo da Vinci Award.