APS John C. Slater Predoctoral Fellowship in History of Science for 2019-2020: Prashant Kumar

Linda Hall Library Fellowships: Alexis Rider, Nikhil Dharan

Mellon Dissertation Fellowship: Jason Chernesky

National Science Foundation Dissertation Grant: Alexis Rider

Science History Institute Dissertation Fellow: Sara Ray

Smithsonian Fellowship: Alexis Rider

Dean's Scholar: Leah Samples

Research Fellowship at the Consortium for History of Science,Technology, and Medicine: Alexis Rider

FLAS Fellowship in Arabic: Austin Cooper

Penn Dissertation Research Fellowship: Austin Cooper

LBJ Library Moody Research Grant: Austin Cooper

Eisenhower Library Research Grant: Austin Cooper

Doctoral Fellowship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada: Taylor Dysart

Penn Center for Teaching and Learning Graduate Fellow 2019-2020: Alexis Rider

2019 Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize Honorable Mention (Society for the History of Technology): Sam Schirvar



Collegium Institute for Catholic Thought and Culture Graduate Fellowship - Christopher Fite

Consortium Dissertation Fellowship - Ekaterina Babintseva

Dean's Scholar - Sumiko Hatakeyama

Fulbright Scholarship - Sara Ray

Mellon Dissertation Fellow, Penn Program in Environmental Humanities - Jesse Smith

Penn Prizes for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students - Tabea Cornel, Alexis Rider 

2018 Smithsonian Institution Fellowship Program - Nicole Welk-Joerger


Grad Alumni

Humanities Book Prize of the Latin American Studies Association - Eve Buckley '06 for Technocrats and the Politics of Drought and Development in 20th Brazil (UNC Press, 2017) 



Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students - Nicole Welk-Joerger

Penn Program in the Environmental Humanities Fellows - Alexis Rider and Nicole Welk-Joerger

Center for Teaching and Learning Graduate Fellow - Elaine Lafay

Pressman Prize (AAHM) - Rachel Elder



HSS Dissertation Prize - Whitney Laemmli

APS Fellow in the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine - Elaine Lafay

Dean's Scholar - Elaine Lafay

University Dissertation Completion Fellowships (DCF) - Rosanna Dent and Matthew Hoffarth

University Dissertation Research Fellowships (DRF) - Ekaterina Babintseva, Tabea Cornel and Kate Dorsch

Mellon/ACLS Fellowship  - Rosanna Dent

Cheiron Young Scholars Award - Matthew Hoffarth


Atkinson Post-Doctoral Fellowship (Cornell) - Mary Mitchell

A.W. Mellon Post-Doctoral Fellowship (Wisconsin) - Lisa Ruth Rand

Columbia Society of Fellows - Whitney Laemmli

Penn Program on Race, Science and Society - Eram Alan



AAHM Shyrock Medal - Marissa Mika

ACLS/Mellon Dissertation Completion Award - Whitney Laemmli

Halpern Prize - Tamar Novick

Mellon Fellowship for Research in Original Sources - Elaine Lafay

NASA Fellowship and PACHS Dissertation Writing Fellowship - Lisa Ruth Rand


Max Planck Post-Doctoral Fellowship - Tamar Novick

Mellon Post-Doctoral Fellowship in the Digital Humanities - Peter Collopy



SHOT Edelstein Prize - Christopher Jones '09 for Routes of Power (Harvard, 2014)